No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 14
at NMU Open - Ishpeming, Mich.
Sun Dec 15
at NMU Open - Ishpeming, Mich.
Sat Dec 21
MTU Pre-Nationals CXC Cup - Tech Trails
Skate Sprint
Sun Dec 22
MTU Pre-Nationals CXC Cup - Tech Trails
Classic 10/10K
Thu Jan 02
US Cross Country Championships - Tech Trails
Skate Sprint
Fri Jan 03
US Cross Country Championships - Tech Trails
Skate 10/15K
Sun Jan 05
US Cross Country Championships - Tech Trails
Classic 7.5/10/20/30K
Tue Jan 07
US Cross Country Championships - Tech Trails
Classic Sprint
Sat Jan 18
at CCSA Mt. Itasca Invitational - Coleraine, Minn.
Skate 5/10K
Sun Jan 19
at CCSA Mt. Itasca Invitational - Coleraine, Minn.
Classic 15/20K
Sun Jan 26
at CCSA Gitchi Gami Games - Cable, Wis.
Classic 10/15K
Sat Feb 01
at CCSA Northwoods Nordic Invitational - Rhinelander, Wis.
Skate 5/10K
Sun Feb 02
at CCSA Northwoods Nordic Invitational - Rhinelander, Wis.
Classic 15/20K
Sat Feb 15
CCSA Championships - Tech Trails
Skate 5/10K
Sun Feb 16
CCSA Championships - Tech Trails
Classic 15/20K
Sat Feb 22
at NCAA Central Regional Championships - Ishpeming, Mich.
Skate 5/10K
Sun Feb 23
at NCAA Central Regional Championships - Ishpeming, Mich.
Classic 15/20K
Thu Mar 12
at NCAA Championships - Bozeman, Mont.
Skate 5/10K
Sat Mar 14
at NCAA Championships - Bozeman, Mont.
Classic 15/20K
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

PREVIEW: Nordic Ski Opens Season at NMU Open

PREVIEW: Nordic Ski Opens Season at NMU Open

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The 2019-2020 season will officially begin this weekend for the Michigan Tech Nordic ski team, as the Huskies will compete at the NMU Open. The two-day event, held on December 14-15, will be hosted from the Al Quaal Recreation Area in Ishpeming, Michigan.

The competition will begin on Saturday with the 10K/15K Freestyle, followed by the 5K/10K Classic on Sunday. The Al Quaal Recreation Area, the site of this weekend's NMU Invitational, will also be home to the 2020 NCAA Central Region Championships, giving Michigan Tech an opportunity to get an early look at the trails they will be skiing on in late February.

"This is a really good opportunity for our student-athletes to preview those courses," said Tech head coach Thomas Smith. "Being able to race the same courses that they'll be skiing on in February will really help build their confidence."

Sophomore Oda Hovland was a strong skier for the Huskies in 2018-19, as the Norwegian advanced to the semifinal of the Junior Skate Sprint at the 2019 U.S. Cross Country Ski Championships and finished ninth in the 15K Classic at the CCSA Championships.

On the men's side, junior Patrick Acton was two-time All-Region skier as he finished in the top five in both events at the 2019 NCAA Central Region Championships and picked up an All-CCSA First Team selection.

Joining the 15 returning Michigan Tech skiers will be six incoming freshman student-athletes, including two international skiers, who will all be representing the Huskies in their first collegiate Nordic races.

Michigan Tech is hosting the 2020 U.S. Cross Country Ski Championships from January 2-7 at the Michigan Tech Trails. Click here to volunteer for the event, and follow the news on the Championships on Facebook and Instagram.