No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Senior Day
No Event
View Full Schedule

Schmitz Joins Women’s Basketball Coaching Staff

Schmitz Joins Women’s Basketball Coaching Staff

HOUGHTON, Mich. – Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt is pleased to announce that Jason Schmitz will be joining the women's basketball program as an assistant coach. Schmitz has spent the past four seasons as an assistant coach at the University of Mary (N.D.), an NCAA Division II program in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.

"I'm incredibly excited and honored to be named the assistant women's basketball coach at Michigan Tech," Schmitz said. "After visiting the campus on my interview, I knew it was a place that I wanted to be. The tradition of the program sells itself to anyone who comes into contact with it and I'm excited to become part of the family. I'm thankful to Coach Hoyt and the rest of the selection committee for giving me this opportunity. Coach Hoyt has an incredible amount of love and passion for the university and the basketball team, and I cannot wait to get to work to continue to build on the past success of the program."

During his tenure at the University of Mary, Schmitz coached Brittany Dietz who went on to become the program's all-time leading scorer. She also holds the NSIC single season scoring record and earned All-American honors. Schmitz also coached the NSIC Freshman of the Year Gabbie Bohl along with five All-NSIC Team members, two All-NSIC Defensive Team members, two All-NSIC Freshman Team members, and three 1,000 point scorers.

Schmitz was an integral part of the University of Mary program where he was responsible for all player development, creating and developing all defensive scouting reports, game plans, and film edits. Schmitz also served as the recruiting coordinator where he signed players from 10 different states to the program. He also assisted in practice planning, game management, and was the camp coordinator.

"I'm thrilled to have Coach Schmitz join our staff," Hoyt said. "He brings a unique skill set, having already been a high school head coach. Jason is also a proven recruiter at the NCAA Division II level. I am confident his basketball IQ, work ethic, and interpersonal skills will be of great value to this team and program."

Prior to arriving at Mary, Schmitz was the Head Girls Basketball Coach at Oakes High School in North Dakota. In addition, he was the interim Athletic Director at Oakes and the Athletic Director at Wing Public School. Schmitz also spent time at Worcester State as a Graduate Assistant to the athletic director and baseball program.

Schmitz graduated from the University of Mary in 2008 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Social Behavioral Education. Schmitz completed is Maters of Education degree from Worcester State in 2010.