No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Rebound in 79-54 Win over Purdue Northwest

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team regrouped Saturday with 79-54 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference victory over Purdue Northwest in the SDC Gym. The Huskies set the tone early with a dominating first quarter and then held off a second half charge by the Pride to preserve the win.

"We met with the players after Thursday's game and talked with them about their mentality, being aggressive, playing confidently, believing in themselves, and believing in each other," Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "I think that made a big difference in how we played today compared to the Parkside game. Getting a win going into these next two non-conference games was monumental for a lot of reasons.

"We have two really tough teams coming up with Lewis and Minnesota Duluth before the break, so it's really nice to go in to those after a victory. We still have some things to learn from this game and we'll continue to get better, but I'm proud of the effort from our players today and their ability to bounce back."

Michigan Tech (6-4, 3-1 GLIAC) went to work quickly on the offensive end of the floor following a successful opening tip-off. Junior Abbie Botz found junior Ellie Welsh on the perimeter for a triple to give the Huskies a 3-0 lead. Purdue Northwest (2-7, 0-4 GLIAC) countered with the next two baskets on a jumper from Shae Rhonehouse and a layup by Danielle Nennig. The points created what would be the Pride's only lead of the afternoon at 4-3 with 6:29 to go in the first quarter.

Freshman Ellie Mackay dialed in a triple about 30 seconds later to retake the lead for the Huskies. Nennig knotted the contest up at 6-6 on a pair of free throws with 4:448 left in the quarter, but Tech would latch hold of the momentum in the final minutes of the first to take control of the game. Freshman Sloane Zenner provided a big spark off the bench, sending home back to back treys to move the Huskies in front for good at 12-6 with 3:05 on the clock. Zenner then beat the buzzer on another three-point basket to end the first, granting Tech a nine-point cushion at 19-10 going into the second period.

The Huskies' offense continued to fire on all cylinders at the outset of the second as they put some more distance between themselves and the Pride. Botz, Mackay, and sophomore Cassidy Trotter combined for nine points in the first 2:30 minutes to build a 28-10 lead. The Tech defense yielded just one free throw in the first six minutes of the second quarter, allowing the offense ample opportunity to keep pouring on the points.

Welsh found the range from behind the arc again with just over four minutes to play until the break, making it a 40-11 score in favor of the Huskies. Purdue Northwest was able to make up some ground though before the intermission, reeling off a 14-0 run to wrap up the quarter. Tayler Vauters came up with a steal and raced to the other end of the floor for a layup with one second to go, resulting in a 40-25 advantage for the Huskies.

With 6:45 to play in the third period, Tech bumped the lead back up to 20 points at 51-31 on a three-point basket by junior Hannah Hobson. It was one of 12 total triples for the Huskies in Saturday's victory. Tech maintained a double digit lead for the rest of the afternoon, although the Pride managed to sneak back to within 11 points once and 12 points twice in the last two quarters. However, the Huskies had an answer each time to keep Purdue Northwest at arm's length. Tech left nothing to chance late in the fourth, posting the final nine points of the day to seal up the victory.

Trotter powered the Huskies Saturday afternoon with a career high 17 points, nine rebounds, and eight assists. Defensively, she produced a pair of steals and blocked a single game career best three shots. Mackay followed with 16 points while Zenner chipped in a season and career high 12 points in addition to six rebounds, three steals, and three blocks in the contest. Eight total players contributed points for the Huskies in the win.

In terms of team stats, the Huskies were successful on 29 of 60 shots from the field (48.3%), found the target on 12 of 29 chances from behind the arc (41.4%), and converted 9 of 12 opportunities at the charity stripe (75.0%). Tech out-rebounded Purdue Northwest 43-37, scored 28 points in the paint, and turned 19 Pride turnovers into 20 points on the offensive end of the floor.

Bayley Goodman had 17 points for the Pride followed by Lanie Allen with 12 points Saturday afternoon. Allen also delivered eight rebounds and had five steals to lead Purdue Northwest in each of those categories. The Pride connected on just 17 of 61 attempts from the field (27.9%), were 5 for 20 from three-point range (25.0%), and 15 of 23 at the free throw line (65.2%).

The Huskies are back in action Saturday when they host Lewis University in a non-conference contest at the SDC Gym. The tip-off is scheduled for 4 p.m. eastern time.