No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Hang On at Minnesota Duluth

Huskies Hang On at Minnesota Duluth

DULUTH, Minn. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team held off the University of Minnesota Duluth for a key 66-57 non-conference victory on the road Wednesday afternoon. The Huskies built a 41-20 advantage at the break and withstood a second half charge from the Bulldogs. Tech is now 7-0 when leading at halftime this season.

"I'm thrilled to get this win today coming off a tough loss to a very good Lewis team on Saturday," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "It was incredible to see the way our girls responded, not only learning from the Lewis game, but also in the way they handled the adversity today and stepped up in the second half when Duluth made their run. We grew a lot as a team and had a number of players rise to the occasion and contribute at key times throughout the course of the contest.

"I think the break comes at a good time for our team to get a little rest before resuming the GLIAC schedule January 3rd. Everyone will get some time at home with family to recharge physically and mentally and be ready to go against Ashland after the Holiday."

Minnesota Duluth (5-3) was clicking offensively at the start of Wednesday's game, firing in the first six points. Ann Simonet knocked down a jumper followed by a pair of free throws from Katie Stark and an additional jumper courtesy of Emma Boehm. Michigan Tech (7-5) broke through at the 7:43 mark of the first quarter on a triple by freshman Ellie Mackay to get the offense rolling and make it a 6-3 score.

Mackay's bucket sparked a 14-2 run by the Huskies that resulted in a 14-8 advantage with 3:30 left in the opening period. Four different players contributed points during that stretch, which was capped by a jumper from junior Abbie Botz. Sammy Kozlowski brought the Bulldogs to within three points again at 16-13 on a layup with just under two minutes remaining on the clock. However, the final moments of the first and majority of the second quarter belonged to Tech.

Botz answered the Kozlowski basket with a mid-range jumper and then Mackay sank a three-pointer a few seconds before the horn sounded to make a 21-13 lead through 10 minutes. The Huskies kept the moment going in the second period on both the offensive and defensive ends of the floor. Tech prevented the Bulldogs from scoring until nearly seven minutes had elapsed off the second quarter clock.

Meanwhile, Botz continued to have the hot hand and kicked off the scoring for the Huskies in the second quarter with one of her seven field goals in the game. Sophomore Cassidy Trotter eventually widened the gap to 34-13 with 3:55 left until the break on a drive to the basket for a layup.

Kozlowksi ended the drought for Minnesota Duluth with a bucket at the 3:28 juncture of the second quarter. Junior Hannah Hobson made sure it didn't spark a run though, answering back for the Huskies with two of her career high 19 points on the afternoon. The Huskies eventually opened up a 41-20 lead at the intermission when Botz connected on a layup during the closing seconds of the second quarter.

The Bulldogs wouldn't go quietly on their home floor and thanks to a 10-0 scoring run to begin the third, they were right back to within striking distance. Sarah Grow found the target on a mid-range jumper to cut UMD's deficit to 41-30 with 6:16 remaining in the third. However, Tech was able to silence the Bulldogs for the time being and pushed the gap back out 19 points at 51-32 on a trey from junior Ellie Welsh at the 2:23 mark.

The Huskies would have to weather another storm as Minnesota Duluth mounted one more attempt to get back in the game. This time the Bulldogs made things a little too close for comfort, drawing to within three points at 57-54 on a Grow layup with 2:55 left in the fourth. Fortunately, the UMD scoring burst would end right there. On the ensuing possession, Mackay hit what would prove to be the key shot in the game, finding the range from three-point land in the left corner off an assist from Trotter. The bucket tilted the momentum back in Tech's favor and sparked a 9-0 run to put the game out of reach for good.

Hobson powered the Huskies attack with a career high 19 points and 10 rebounds on the way to her first double-double. Hobson was on target with 7 of her 12 shots from the field, with three of those makes happening from long distance. Hobson also dished out two assists and blocked one shot in the contest.

Botz followed Hobson with 16 points and eight rebounds, connecting on seven of her eight chances from the floor. Mackay chipped in 12 points courtesy of four three-pointers to round out the double digit scorers for Tech. Trotter tacked on eight points, grabbed five rebounds, and matched a career high eight assists which she established against Purdue Northwest earlier this season.

In terms of team stats, the Huskies were successful on 26 of 53 shots from the field (49.1%), connected on 9 of 21 opportunities from three-point range (42.9%), and converted 5 of 10 looks at the free throw line (50.0%). Tech had 26 points in the paint, dished out 19 assists, and held the lead for the majority of the afternoon.

The Bulldogs had three players reach double digit point totals, led by Kozlowski with 16 points, eight rebounds, four assists, and three steals. Grow generated 10 points and a team high 10 rebounds while Simonet tallied 10 points for Minnesota Duluth. The Bulldogs were limited by Tech's defense to a 23 for 73 shooting performance from the field (31.5%). They also made just 5 of 17 attempts from behind the arc (29.4%) and went 6 of 9 at the charity stripe (66.7%).

The Huskies return to action following the Holiday Break when they head to Ohio on January 3rd to face Ashland University. The tip-off is scheduled for 5:30 p.m.