No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
View Full Schedule

Strong Second Quarter Propels Tech Past Wayne State

Sloane Zenner playing defense
Photo Courtesy of Wayne State Athletics

DETROIT, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team capped the weekend with a 62-46 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win Saturday afternoon at Wayne State. The Huskies bounced back from a tough loss Thursday at Ashland, outscoring the Warriors 25-9 in the second quarter to establish momentum and take control of the game.

"We really responded well from Thursday's game and to come out and right off the bat bring the intensity was huge today," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "I thought our defense was really sharp and we had great communication, which was also nice to see. Our confidence was good and sometimes after a loss player's can get down, but I thought our leaders did a great job of getting us prepared for this game. We are excited to be back at home Thursday night after the road trip to begin the New Year. We are going to face a lot of pressure from Ferris State, which we handled pretty well today."

Both defenses controlled the flow of the game in the first quarter Saturday afternoon in Detroit. Michigan Tech (8-6, 4-2 GLIAC) got the upper hand first when junior Abbie Botz knocked down a jumper 23 seconds into the action. Sophomore Cassidy Trotter put the Huskies up 4-1 on a jump shot in the lane and made it 4-1. Following a Wayne State (7-7, 2-4 GLIAC) basket, Botz converted a layup with 6:24 to play in the first, extending the lead to 6-3.

The Warriors then proceeded to go on an 8-0 scoring burst and that resulted in an 11-6 advantage for the home team with 1:31 left in the opening period. Sam Cherney capped the run with a free throw, but it would prove to be Wayne State's largest lead of the afternoon. The Huskies were able to wrestle some of the momentum back from Wayne State in the final 90 seconds of the frame. Senior Elizabeth Kelliher converted a free throw and Botz closed the quarter on a layup to make it 11-9 heading into the second.

With just over eight minutes to play until halftime, junior Ellie Welsh vaulted the Huskies back in front when she dialed in a triple to make it 12-11. Key buckets and defensive stops helped generate a 28-16 edge with 2:48 to go until intermission. Welsh had the honors of giving the Huskies their first double digit lead of the day with her second triple of the quarter. A three-point basket courtesy of freshman Ellie Mackay capped the second quarter and sent the Huskies into the locker room with a 34-20 advantage.

The Huskies picked up right where left off in the third quarter, widening the gap to 20 points at a 42-20 on a layup from freshman Sloane Zenner just over 90 seconds in. Tech would the hold its largest lead of the day when Kelliher cashed in a layup to make it a 46-24 score.

Wayne State chipped away at the deficit and pulled back to within 14 points at 50-36 on a free throw from Jessica Murphy two minutes into the fourth. However, that's as close as the Warriors would get. Tech engineered a 9-2 run over the next three minutes, culminating on a Botz layup that created a 59-38 score with 4:55 on the clock. The Huskies were able to keep the Warriors at arm's length from there.

Botz led a trio of Tech players who posted 10 or more points in Saturday's victory with 14. Botz also grabbed a team best eight rebounds, blocked a shot, and produced a steal. Mackay followed with 13 points and three assists while junior Hannah Hobson rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points. Kelliher closed the contest with seven points, six rebounds, two assists, three blocked shots, and three steals. Trotter had eight points and a team best four steals.

As a team, the Huskies made 23 of 58 attempts from the floor (39.7%), were 7 for 23 from behind the arc (30.4%), and 9 for 11 at the charity stripe (81.8%). Tech logged 30 points in the paint and forced 18 Wayne State turnovers which led to 15 points on the offensive end of the floor.

Ja'Nae Williams paced the Warriors with 13 points and was the only player to have double digit point totals in the contest. Grace George followed with eight points and 10 rebounds while Cherney chipped in seven points and equaled George with 10 boards. The Warriors combined to make just 16 of 58 shots from the field (27.6%), were 1 of 18 from three-point range (5.6%), and 13 of 19 at the free throw line (68.4%).

The Huskies are back in Houghton Thursday night when they host Ferris State in a GLIAC contest at the SDC Gym. The tip-off is slated for 5:30 p.m. eastern time.