No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Storm Past Ferris State 72-37 Thursday Night

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team powered by Ferris State in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference battle Thursday night in the SDC Gym. The Huskies limited the Bulldogs to just 14 points in the second half and a 26.3 percent conversion rate on shots from the field, earning their second consecutive win.

"Ferris State is a really good team and I was very proud of how our players defended," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "To be able to hold a team to 37 points really says something about our defense and our focus on that end of the floor, which is what we wanted to emphasize tonight. I think we did a great job keeping them out of the paint in the second half and we finally began to see some shots fall.

"It's really important for us to build off of each win that we get. Our confidence is growing, but we are going to have to continue to play very well to beat Lake Superior State Saturday. They are a really good team that executes well offensively and reads screens effectively. I'm happy that we won the last two games and our team is playing solid basketball, but we are going to have to come in focused and ready to go on Saturday."

Michigan Tech (9-6, 5-2 GLIAC) fell behind early in the first quarter, facing an 8-2 deficit to Ferris State (7-6, 4-3 GLIAC) at the 6:35 mark following a triple by Alexis Bush. The Huskies spent a timeout a few seconds later to regroup and slow down some of the Bulldogs momentum. Freshman Sloane Zenner began to right the ship for the Huskies with just under five minutes to go in the first, knocking down a triple to draw Tech to within three points at 8-5.

Zenner's bucket kick started a 17-4 run to close out the first quarter and put the Huskies in the driver's seat. Junior Abbie Botz tied up the contest at 9-9 on two free throws with 3:50 on the clock and then gave Tech an 11-9 edge on a layup just a few seconds later. The Bulldogs Kelsey Wyman momentarily tied things up at 11-11 on midrange jumper, but two offensive rebounds by the Huskies on the ensuing possession gave junior Hannah Hobson an opportunity to sink a three-point basket, making it a 14-11 ballgame with 2:53 left in the first. The Huskies would go on to score 22 second chance points in Thursday night's win.

Holding a 19-12 advantage at the end of the first quarter, the Huskies had to withstand a rally by the Bulldogs in the second frame. Ferris State closed the gap down to just one point at 24-23 on a conventional three-point play from Adrienne Anderson with 1:10 remaining in the first half. The Huskies then used a couple more offensive rebounds in the final seconds to secure two chances at the free throw line for Botz right before the intermission. Botz sank both attempts to give Tech a 26-23 edge at the break.

The Huskies then seized control of the game by outscoring the Bulldogs 21-8 in the third quarter and then 25-6 in the fourth quarter. Sophomore Cassidy Trotter and senior Elizabeth Kelliher had back-to-back field goals to get things rolling in the third. Freshman Ellie Mackay gave the Huskies their first double digit lead of the night at 38-27 on layup with just under five minutes left to play in the third.

Tech opened up a 47-31 advantage at the end of the third quarter and the gap continued to grow from there. The Huskies largest lead of the night occurred at the 50 second mark of the final quarter, courtesy of two Hobson free throws. Those two looks at the charity stripe resulted in the final score of 72-37.

Tech's offense was guided by Trotter who poured in 18 points followed by Hobson with 14 points and Botz with 13 points and 13 rebounds. For Botz, it was her third double-double of the 2018-19 campaign. Kelliher wrapped up the night with seven points, 12 rebounds, and three of the Huskies' nine blocked shots. Zenner chipped in eight points and shared the team lead in assists with Hobson as each player dished out five.

As a team, the Huskies made good on 26 of 65 shots from the field (40.0%), were 11 of 32 from behind the arc (34.4%), and 9 for 12 at the free throw line (75.0%). Tech out-rebounded Ferris State 57-29, including 19 offensive boards in Thursday's win. They scored 22 points in the paint, logged 14 points off turnovers, and had 22 second chance points.

Anderson paced the Bulldogs with a team high 13 points and seven rebounds. Ferris State converted just 15 of 57 shots from the field (26.3%), were 1 of 11 from three-point range (9.1%), and 6 for 10 at the free throw line (60.0%).

The Huskies are back in action Saturday afternoon when they host Lake Superior State for another GLIAC battle. The tip-off is scheduled for 1 p.m. eastern time.