No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Senior Day
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Claim a 67-40 Victory over Lake Superior State

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team won for the third consecutive time Saturday afternoon in the SDC Gym, topping Lake Superior State in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference showdown 67-40. Five different players for the Huskies poured in 10 or more points, with nearly half of Saturday's scoring coming in the paint.

"These wins at home this week were huge for us," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "We started off a little slow shooting the ball today, but played well defensively throughout the 40 minutes. In the second half, our players stepped up and hit some big shots and our offense moved the ball well. Our balance on offense was outstanding again today and we have a lot of capable scorers who can produce points in different ways. It's awesome to see different people step up game in and game out. It was also key for us to get some good post touches and easy baskets inside, because we are going to need that going forward to be successful.

"We'll now get ready to face another incredible team Thursday with Grand Valley State coming in. They are strong in the post, have some athletic guards, and do a lot of things well. I'm excited for the game because it will give us a look at where we are at and how we compete against one of the top teams in the country. I'm also excited to play at home again this Thursday in front of our fans and it should be a fun game."

Lake Superior State (5-10, 0-8 GLIAC) gained the upper hand out of the gate with five straight points to begin the contest. Lexie Khon hit a triple and converted two free throws to give the Lakers the edge. However, sophomore Cassidy Trotter powered Michigan Tech (10-6, 6-2) into the lead with six consecutive points of her own. Junior Abbie Botz found her under the rim for a layup followed by a jumper and two free throws to make it a 6-5 score.

The two teams traded baskets over the next few possessions until a layup by senior Elizabeth Kelliher moved the Huskies back in front 15-13. The bucket by Kelliher sparked an 8-0 Tech run to close out the first quarter that then carried over into the early moments of the second period. Freshman Sloane Zenner capped the scoring burst on a layup to increase the gap to 21-13 with 8:59 on the second quarter clock.

The Lakers remained within single digits until freshman Ellie Mackay found the target from long distance, boosting Tech's cushion to 29-18 with 1:45 to go until intermission. Kohn answered the triple by Mackay on the Lakers ensuing possession, but Botz would bump the gap back to double digits again in the final minute, sending the Huskies into the locker room with a 31-21 lead.

The Huskies engineered another strong third quarter on Saturday to put the game out of reach, outscoring the Lakers 22-9. Mackay powered up the Tech offense in the second half with a midrange jumper following an offensive rebound courtesy of Kelliher. The Huskies lead then fluctuated between 9 and 13 points until midway through the third period.

After Khon had cut Tech's lead down to 39-28 on a pair of free throws, Botz grabbed an offensive rebound and got a put back layup to go to make it a 41-28 score with 5:26 remaining in the third. Mackay followed with a layup of her own, junior Hannah Hobson connected on a triple try, Kelliher added four points in the paint, and Mackay closed the string of 12 points in a row with a free throw conversion, resulting in a 51-28 Tech advantage.

The Huskies never looked back from there and eventually created their largest lead of the night with 6:15 to play in the fourth quarter. Zenner did the honors when she buried a long range jumper from behind the arc, extending the gap to 60-33. Freshman Clara Johnson closed out the afternoon by making a free throw which led to the final tally of 67-40.

Botz and Kelliher paced the Huskies with 12 points followed by Mackay and Zenner who recorded 11 points apiece. Hobson rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points on Saturday afternoon. Botz nearly had her second consecutive double-double by pulling down a team high nine rebounds. Mackay ended the contest with four assists, two steals, and three blocked shots.

The Huskies found success on 28 of 56 shots from the field (50.0%), were 6 of 15 from three-point land (40.0%), and 5 for 9 at the free throw line (55.6%). Tech out-rebounded the Lakers 33-25, scored 32 points in the paint, and forced 18 turnovers which led to 17 points on the offensive end of the floor. Tech's reserve players outscored the Lake Superior State bench 25-7.

Khon guided the Lakers with 17 points while Claire Radtke chipped in three points and grabbed a team high nine rebounds. Sadie DeWildt distributed three assists and had two steals. Lake Superior State made 12 of 41 shots from the floor (29.3%), dialed in 6 of 12 opportunities form three-point range (50.0%), and were 10 of 11 at the charity stripe (90.9%).

The Huskies remain at home this Thursday when they host GLIAC foe Grand Valley State in the SDC Gym. The tip-off is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. eastern time.