Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Senior Day
View Full Schedule

Strong Fourth Quarter Powers Tech Past Purdue Northwest

Women's Basketball team celebration

HAMMOND, Ind. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team held off Purdue Northwest for a 67-49 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win Thursday night on the road. The Huskies outscored the Pride 23-9 in the fourth quarter to pull away following a back and forth battle through the first 30 minutes.

"I give a ton of credit to Purdue Northwest for playing hard and controlling most of the game until we were able to get moving in the right direction in the fourth quarter," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "I think we did some things well defensively, but struggled to execute in other aspects tonight. Offensively, I thought we did a good job looking to get the ball inside to Elizabeth [Kelliher], who had a great game for us. We face another tough opponent on Saturday at Parkside and we need to be more focused in order to give ourselves a chance to get a win. We'll also need to do a good job handling their pressure, play better on the defensive end of the floor, and hit some more shots offensively."

Michigan Tech (13-7, 9-3 GLIAC) and Purdue Northwest (2-16, 0-12 GLIAC) traded basket for basket for three quarters Thursday night. The Huskies trailed after the first possession of the evening when Molly Devalkenaere gave the Pride the early edge on a layup 30 seconds into the action. The Huskies found themselves tied or behind until the 5:20 mark of the first quarter when junior Hannah Hobson created the first lead of the night at 6-4 on a jumper in the paint.

Late in the first quarter, freshman Sloane Zenner gave the Huskies what would be their largest advantage of the first half. Zenner found some open space on the perimeter and junior Abbie Botz located her with the pass for an open three-point bucket. Zenner's triple made it a 15-11 score with 36 seconds remaining on the first quarter clock.

The Huskies trailed for a good portion of the second quarter and with just under a minute to play until the break, faced a 33-29 deficit. Tech ended the half on a high note though with four consecutive points to knot the score at the break 33-33. Senior Elizabeth Kelliher produced all four points on a layup and two free throws right before the buzzer sounded.

The Pride stormed out of the gate in the third quarter by posting four straight points to rebuild a 37-33 lead. Freshman Ellie Mackay countered on a mid-range jumper with 7:42 left in the third to help spark a 7-0 Huskies scoring run. Sophomore Cassidy Trotter tied the contest at 37-37 on a layup and added a free throw to recapture the edge for Tech. Kelliher capped the run on another layup with just over six minutes showing on the third quarter clock.

Shae Rhonehouse briefly evened the score at 40-40 on a triple for the Pride, but the Huskies began to turn the tide in their direction during the final moments of the third period. Botz dialed in a key jumper with 1:33 left and then Trotter followed suit with 34 seconds to play in the third, giving Tech a 44-40 edge heading into the final quarter Thursday night.

Those two field goals turned into an 11-0 run which culminated on a three-point basket by junior Ellie Welsh at the eight-minute juncture of the fourth quarter. The Welsh basket gave the Huskies their first double-digit lead of the evening at 51-40, although the Pride would stay within striking distance until late in the frame.

Purdue Northwest climbed back to within five points at 52-47 on a Rhonehouse layup with 6:19 to play, but the Pride managed to produce only two more points the rest of the way. Mackay answered the Rhonehouse basket with a trey for Tech and then a layup courtesy of Kelliher bumped the gap back out to double digits at 57-47 with 4:46 remaining. In total, the Huskies outpaced the Pride 15-2 down the stretch to take the victory.

Kelliher poured in a season high 21 points and was a perfect 8 for 8 from the field to power the Huskies' offense Thursday night. Kelliher added six rebounds and blocked a season best five shots in the win. Trotter followed with 14 points and six steals, Welsh tacked on eight points, Botz chipped in six points and a game high eight rebounds, and Hobson led the team with four assists.

As a team, the Huskies connected on 28 of 64 shots from the field (43.8%), were 5 of 26 from three-point range (19.2%), and 6 of 9 at the free throw line (66.7%). Tech notched 38 points in the paint and forced 30 Pride turnovers which led to 28 points on the offensive end of the floor. Tech held an opponent to less than 50 points in a game for the seventh time this season.

Danielle Nennig paced Purdue Northwest with 11 points followed by Taylor Vauters and Rhonehouse with 10 points apiece. Vauters finished the evening with a team high seven rebounds and five assists. The Pride found the target on 16 of 48 shots from the field (33.3%), were 4 of 17 from long distance (23.5%), and 13 of 19 at the charity stripe (68.4%). Purdue Northwest had a slight edge in rebounding at 38-35.

The Huskies take the floor again on Saturday for another GLIAC contest at Parkside. The Rangers enter the game coming off a 72-64 win over Northern Michigan Thursday night. Saturday's tip-off is slated for 2 p.m. eastern time.