No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Cruise by Northwood 70-40

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team collected win number five in a row with an impressive 70-40 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win over Northwood Thursday night in the SDC Gym. The Huskies went on a 15-1 run to close the first quarter and never looked back, holding an opponent to less than 50 points for the third game in a row.

"For us to be able to make a big run and get the momentum early in the game was huge," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "We've always taken pride in playing great defense at Tech, but as of late the urgency that our girls bring in games and practice on the defensive end has been raised to a new level. Our defense came up big again for us tonight and allowed us to make the run a create some separation. I believe we are playing our best basketball of the season thus far and we still have some things to work on, but we'll continue to try and make improvements each week. We are taking the right steps and in a good place right now."

Northwood (10-12, 7-7 GLIAC) jumped out to a 5-0 lead early, but it would be the only deficit Michigan Tech (15-7, 11-3 GLIAC) would face in the contest. Grace German and Kenzie Seeley accounted for the Timberwolves scoring before the Huskies turned the tide in their direction. Senior Elizabeth Kelliher got Tech rolling with a layup followed by a triple from junior Hannah Hobson to even the score at 5-5.

The Huskies kept powering forward when freshman Ellie Mackay dropped in a layup with 5:03 on the clock and drew contact in the process, leading to a conventional three-point play opportunity. The free throw was good to make it an 8-5 score and Tech would then go on to close out the quarter with seven more points.

Meanwhile, the Timberwolves would add just one more point to their total before the first quarter horn sounded. Junior Abbie Botz, freshman Ellie Mackay, and Kelliher combined to produce the points for the Huskies on the way to a 15-6 lead with 10 minutes in the books.

Tech added three more points to lead on a conventional three-point play by Botz at the 7:11 mark of the second period. Botz drove into the paint to for a layup and got the free to go to make it an 18-6 score. The Timberwolves were finally able to break their scoring drought on a triple by Seeley to cut Tech's lead down to single digits at 18-9.

Northwood would close the gap to seven points at 26-19 on another trey from Adrianna Stolicker as the clock ticked down to just below two minutes to play in the half. However, the Huskies would close out the half with five consecutive points to keep Northwood from finding a rhythm. Freshman Sloane Zenner connected from downtown at the 1:10 mark and then with four seconds remaining in the half, Mackay converted twice at the charity stripe to give the Huskies a 31-19 advantage at the intermission.

The Huskies, behind a strong defense and a solid offense, took command of the game in the third period by outpacing Northwood 19-6 during that 10-minute span. Tech eventually created the largest lead of the game of 33 points at 60-27 with 7:08 remaining in the fourth. Zenner dropped in a layup following an offensive rebound by Botz. The Timberwolves could get no closer than 26 points the rest of the way.

The Huskies were powered by Botz who found the target on 7 of 10 shots from the floor on the way to a game high 17 points. She also contributed seven rebounds, had an assist, and one blocked shot. Hobson followed with 15 points and paced the Huskies in assists with five. Mackay rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points while securing her first career double-double on the strength of 10 rebounds.

As a team, the Huskies connected on 26 of 52 shots from the field (50.0%), were 10 for 19 from long distance (52.6%), and 8 for 10 at the free throw line (80.0%). Tech out-rebounded Northwood 36-29, produced 18 points off of 16 Timberwolves turnovers, and the reserves out-scored the Northwood bench 30-8.

Grace German guided Northwood with 13 points followed by Seeley and Stolicker with eight points each. German ended the night with a double-double thanks to a game high 12 rebounds. The Huskies' defense limited Northwood's offense to an 11 for 44 performance from the field (25.0%). The Timberwolves found the mark on 4 of 16 attempts from three-point land (25.0%) and converted 14 of 18 chances at the free throw line (77.8%).

The Huskies, who by virtue of Thursday's win clinched a GLIAC playoff spot, will host conference Saginaw Valley State Saturday afternoon at the SDC Gym. The Cardinals fell at Northern Michigan Thursday night 56-38. Saturday's tip-off is scheduled for 12 p.m. eastern time.