No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Power Past Lake Superior State 74-63

Ellie Welsh driving to the basket

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team extended the winning streak to seven games thanks to a 74-63 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win at Lake Superior State University Thursday night. The victory, coupled with a loss by Ferris State, clinched a home game for the Huskies in the quarterfinals of the conference tournament on March 5th.

"Give credit to Lake Superior State for playing hard and challenging us all the way to end," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "We played hard as well and did a great job executing, especially in the first and third quarters tonight. We did struggle a bit defensively in the second and fourth periods and put them on the foul line which gave them a chance to get back in the game. Overall on offense, we moved the ball well, set our screens, and were able to get ball inside which helped us create some separation in the first and third quarters. It was also key for us to get out to a quick start tonight. Anytime you can get a win on the road in the GLIAC it's huge and credit to our players for battling through to close out the victory."

Michigan Tech (17-7, 13-3 GLIAC) never trailed in the contest and set the tone out of the gate when junior Ellie Welsh connected on a pair of three-point baskets in the opening minute for a 6-0 edge. Lake Superior State (7-16, 2-14 GLIAC) got on the board for the first time when Courtney Jacobsen dialed in a triple of her own to make it a 6-3 score with 8:40 on the first quarter clock.

The Huskies then proceeded to go on a 7-0 scoring run, leading to their first double digit advantage of the evening. Sophomore Cassidy Trotter cut to the rim for a layup followed by points in the paint from senior Elizabeth Kelliher and a trey courtesy of freshman Sloane Zenner. Zenner's bucket capped the run and created a 13-3 gap in favor of Tech with 5:26 remaining in the first.

The Huskies continued to create further separation for the remainder of the period. Leading 15-8 with three minutes left, Tech closed the first frame on a 10-0 run with points coming from Zenner, Trotter, freshman Ellie Mackay, and Kelliher. Kelliher found the bottom of the net right before the buzzer sounded, giving the Huskies a 25-8 lead through 10 minutes.

With 7:49 left in the second, Tech had opened up a 32-10 lead when Zenner sighted in another shot from long distance. However, with their backs against the wall the Lakers reeled off 11 consecutive points to get right back in it. Taylor Bryant completed a conventional three-point play with just over five minutes to play in the half, reducing the Lakers' deficit to 32-21. Lake Superior State eventually drew to within eight points at 37-29 in the final minute, but a Kelliher layup with 21 seconds left in the second salvaged a 39-29 lead for the Huskies at the break.

Michigan Tech got back on track in the third quarter and outpaced the Lakers 18-7 during that 10-minute span. The Huskies used a 10-0 scoring burst to wrap up the third period which recreated a 21-point lead. Junior Abbie Botz launched a triple with three seconds left for the final basket, leaving the score at 57-36 with 30 minutes in the books.

Tech then added another point to the cushion when Welsh connected from behind the arc to make it 60-38 with 9:05 remaining in the fourth period. The Lakers would not go quietly and slowly but surely chipped away at the difference during the next few minutes. Lake Superior State clawed all the way back to within six points at 69-63 when Lexie Khon cashed in a free throw with 41 seconds to play.

Fortunately, the Huskies were able to hold off the Lakers on the strength of some clutch free throw shooting in those final seconds. Botz, Zenner, and Mackay combined to go 5 for 6 at the stripe while the defense forced a pair of Lake Superior State turnovers to seal the 74-63 win.

Kelliher powered the Huskies with a game high 19 points, sinking 8 of her 9 shot attempts from the field. She also produced seven rebounds and blocked a season high six shots in the victory. Botz followed with 14 points and a team high eight rebounds while Trotter and Welsh each chipped in 12 points. Zenner rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points and Trotter closed the night with a team high five assists.

As a team, the Huskies were successful on 25 of 56 shots from the field (44.6%), were 10 for 21 from three-point land (47.6%), and 14 of 22 at the free throw line (63.6%). Tech out-rebounded the Lakers 33-30 and posted 30 points in the paint with 12 points coming in the transition game Thursday.

Jacobsen had 17 points to pace the Lakers followed by Khon with 10 points. Sadie DeWildt tossed in eight points and dished out four assists while Jenna Gregory tacked on four points and a team high eight rebounds. The Lakers wrapped up the contest converting on 19 of 54 shots from the field (35.2%), were 4 of 18 from behind the arc (22.2%), and 21 of 24 at the free throw line (87.5%).

The Huskies travel to Ferris State Saturday for their second game of the season against the Bulldogs. Ferris State lost in double overtime Thursday night to Northern Michigan 70-66. Saturday's tip-off is slated for 1 p.m. eastern time.