No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Aug 30
Final
9 Michigan Tech
0 vs. Lawrence Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Sat Sep 08
TBA
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Marquette, Mich. Exhibition
Sat Sep 15
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ TBA
Sun Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ TBA
Mon Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ TBA
Sat Sep 22
Final
0 Ashland
7 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 23
Final
3 Wayne State
4 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Sep 29
Final
6 Michigan Tech
1 at Saginaw Valley State
Sun Sep 30
Final
0 Michigan Tech
7 at Northwood
Sat Oct 06
Final
2 Ferris State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 07
Final
5 Grand Valley State
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 13
Final
6 Michigan Tech
1 at Davenport
Sun Oct 14
Final
6 Michigan Tech
1 at Purdue Northwest
Sat Oct 20
Final
0 Lake Superior State
7 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 26
Final
0 Lake Superior State
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center - Midland, Mich. GLIAC Tournament - Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
2 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Northwood
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center - Midland, Mich. GLIAC Tournament - Semifinals
Sun Oct 28
Final
1 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center - Midland, Mich. GLIAC Tournament - 3rd Place Match
Sun Feb 24
Postponed
Michigan Tech
vs. Tiffin
@ Midland, Mich. Midland Tennis Center
Sun Mar 03
Final
2 Michigan Tech
4 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sun Mar 10
Final
0 Kutztown
7 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 11
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Illinois-Springfield
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 15
Final
1 Michigan Tech
6 vs. Mo.-St. Louis
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
View Full Schedule

Huskies Top Ashland 7-0 Saturday

Jessica Brown

ASHLAND, Ohio – The Michigan Tech women's tennis team recorded an impressive 7-0 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win at Ashland University Saturday afternoon. The Huskies improved both their overall and conference record to 2-0 with the victory.

"I'm proud of the way our team played today and overall it was an excellent match," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Kalinec said. "We began the match strong in doubles, which set the tone for the rest of the day. We had a slower start in singles, but hit our stride to secure an important victory. We'll now get ready to face a very good Wayne State team tomorrow (Sunday) on the road as we look to finish the weekend strong."

Junior Ivona Gorgioski and sophomore Jessica Brown teamed up against Anna Hart and Brianna Brdicka in No. 1 doubles, cruising to a 6-0 win. Freshman Dominika Bobik and freshman Lauren Opalewski defeated Camille Ringot and Gabriella Hudec 6-2 in No. 2 doubles while sophomore Samantha Johnson and freshman Nevas Manas collected a 6-1 victory in No. 3 doubles Saturday.

Leading 1-0 after doubles, Michigan Tech swept all six of the singles matches on the way to the 7-0 win. Gorgioski outpaced Nikhol Pluta 6-2, 6-1 in the No. 1 spot in the lineup while Brown held off Hudec 2-6, 6-2, 10-6 in No. 2 singles. Brown rallied from a set one loss to take the final two sets and get the win.

Bobik continued to play well in the No. 3 singles spot, pulling away from Zoe Rosu 6-4, 6-0. Manas picked up a 6-3, 6-2 win in No. 4 singles over Ringot while Opalewski secured a 6-3, 6-2 decision against Hart in No. 5 singles. Sophomore Mirna Golac rounded out the shutout with a 6-1, 6-4 win in the No. 6 spot in the lineup.

The Huskies will be back on the court Sunday morning when they travel to Wayne State University for another GLIAC contest. The first serve is slated for 10 a.m. eastern time.