No events to show.

Women's Volleyball

Ten NCAA Appearances 1994 GLIAC Champions

Volleyball honored by AVCA for sixth consecutive year

Volleyball honored by AVCA for sixth consecutive year

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The Michigan Tech volleyball team received the Team Academic Award from the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) for 2017-18, earning the honor for the sixth straight season. The Huskies had a 3.5 team grade-point average and were one of six GLIAC and one of 128 teams in NCAA Division II to receive the honor.

"Michigan Tech attracts such quality student-athletes across the board, and I'm incredibly proud to be part of this university," Coach Matt Jennings said. "Awards like these are a result of our players' dedication to excellence and commitment to their education. Our support staff and faculty are partners in this award as well. Their passion for their work makes it possible for our players to succeed at this level. We have a special group of young women on this team who work incredibly hard in the gym and in the classroom, and the results are impressive. Receiving this award is a goal for us every season, and I'm happy for the team to have earned this recognition again."

The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale.

Seven Huskies were named to the GLIAC All-Academic Excellence Team last season while two others were on the GLIAC All-Academic Team. Senior middle blocker Stephanie Dietrich was a recipient of the GLIAC's Pat Riepma Postgraduate Scholarship. Along with their success in the classroom, the Huskies found success on the court, finishing with a 20-11 record while going to the GLIAC Championship match and earning a birth to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2009.

The AVCA Team Academic Award is the single largest award offered by the number of schools, players and coaches honored. Since the 2000-01 season, the number of recipients has increased every single year but two, while amassing a 619-team increase over the span of the last decade. Since the award's inception in 1993, the amount of award winners has increased from 62 to its current number of 973.

The 2018 Tech volleyball season begins on August 24 at the University of Alaska Anchorage Invitational. The Huskies first match is at 1 p.m. against the Alaska Nanooks.